Signs of Urban Life: Development Outlook (Uptown’s Woes)

Image: FEC Corridor facing north toward Midtown

There are many factors that influence retail and development activity. This installment is intended to describe those factors that are negative and may slowdown progress in the Uptown area, which is east of the I-95, north of the I-395, south of the I-195, and west of Biscayne Bay (the area includes: the Media and Entertainment District, Wynwood Arts District, Midtown Miami, and Edgewater).

Woe 1: Lack of Rail Transit Access

Connectivity to the mass transit rail system not only enhances accessibility for visitors to the area, but also alleviates the overall parking capacity. Of the three primary segments of the urban core (Brickell and the CBD being the other two), Uptown has the least connectivity to rail transit lines. There is no Metrorail station in Uptown. The free people mover system services the Omni and School Board area but doesn’t pass north of 15th street. Although the FEC corridor presents the opportunity of expanding the rail transit system north through Uptown, the initiative remains in the planning phase.

Image: entrance to the Biscayne Cemetery

Woe 2: Development Impediments

Uptown, unlike the CBD and Brickell to the south, has large parcels zoned and used for industrial purposes. Some of these include:

  • People’s Gas Lot (1600 N Miami ave and 60 NW 17th street)
  • Tarmac of FL (1801 NW Miami Ct and 17845 NW 1st ave)
  • Metro Mix (2111 NW 1st PL)

These industrial spaces don’t just impede development but are eyesores as well. I can’t think of too many people who’d be fine with having a cement plant in their neighborhood. In Uptown, there are two of these medium sized facilities. The redevelopment of the 56 acre Buena Vista storage yard into Midtown Miami is a reminder that, through a redevelopment perspective, anything can happen, but the impediments remain and will not easily be removed.

Image: FPL substation

In addition to the obstructive industrial spaces that include the parcels mentioned above but are not limited to them, there is the large FPL substation (77 NE 20 ST) parcel. Here again, we have an eyesore and a development impediment.

Cemeteries are a fact of life, but their gloomy presence is almost impossible to remove and they don’t exactly boost real estate value. Brickell and the CBD don’t have cemeteries, Uptown has one in the heart of it. If there is anything positive to note in this respect, there has been some minor new retail activity surrounding the cemetery as of late, but nothing significant.

Woe 3: Crime and Vagrancy

According to county data, Uptown leads the urban core in crime incidents. To supplement this problem, the area directly west of the I-95, next to Uptown, is several times worse than Uptown proper. This undoubtedly, regardless of the I-95 barrier, creates the potential of a negative spill over effect. Additionally, Uptown has a problem with vagrancy that is comparable, but less severe, than that of the CBD. You can’t go to the Burger King across from the Omni and eat in your car without having at least one panhandler approach your window. This deters pedestrian activity, keeps visitors at bay, and weighs down the areas value. When measured against Uptown, Brickell is more desirable for retailers looking to set up shop away from vagrancy that might scare off customers.

Woe 4: Low Income Housing

Uptown has the most low income housing of the entire urban core. Unfortunately, there is a stigma of crime associated with high levels of low income housing. Whether true or not, the negative perception exists and is damaging to the potential of the community. Retailers tend to avert setting up shop near concentrated low income areas.

Woe 5: Nightlife, or Lack thereof

There is little to no nightlife in Uptown. Parkwest might be missing a retail sector, but it has a thriving nightlife. Having such nocturnal activity can help the retail sector by stretching hours of operation for surrounding retailers into the evening and adding dynamism to the economic mix. At night, Uptown is, well, boring. The Performing Arts Center and the couple of nighttime establishments nearby are not enough to compensate.

Woe 6: Pedestrian-unfriendliness

Uptown is the least pedestrian friendly area of the Urban core. Aside from the narrow sidewalks being harrowingly close to busy Biscayne Boulevard, they are in terrible shape and lack shade. Other than Margaret Pace Park and Midtown Miami, Uptown lacks free roaming areas for pedestrians. N. Miami Avenue, NE 2nd Avenue, and even Biscayne Boulevard haven’t matured enough, economically, to provide a reason for traversing the area on foot or bike.

Image: An abandoned building on N.E. 2nd Avenue

Woe 7: Dereliction and Decay

N.E. 2nd Avenue has considerable potential for becoming an economic artery, but currently it is lined with abandoned and derelict buildings–many of which are up for sale. Although these structures do provide something of a blank canvas for development, so long as they remain in their current dilapidated state they bring down the aesthetic appearance of the community and in some instances provide a haven for illicit activity. Uptown is riddled with these derelict structures–more so than any other segment of the entire urban core.

Uptown has plenty of problems and I’m certain that many have been left out, but the upstart neighborhood is brewing with growth and value potential. In the next installment, Uptown’s Pros will be discussed.

61 Comments

Filed under BoB Articles, Gentrification, Uptown: Edgewater, Uptown: Media & Entertainment (PAC) District, Uptown: Midtown Miami, Uptown: Wynwood Arts District

61 responses to “Signs of Urban Life: Development Outlook (Uptown’s Woes)

  1. FrenchyMiami

    When is next installment…

  2. Great article, BoB. I lived near Uptown for about 3 years. From what I see the area has had little to no growth for decades. Sadly, there is hardly any foot traffic in the Design District.

    Whoever it was that sold the investors at Midtown and Edgewater on the (pipe) dream this area would ever been a thriving commercial or residential neighborhood either deserves a big, big raise, or a tar and feathering.

  3. FM, next Monday. The negative is one side of the coin. The other side of the coin, as you will see next week, and you probably already know, leaves Uptown in a remarkably singular position compared to the rest of the Core.

    Gus, thanks. I think that the area finds itself at a threshold between the neglected Uptown of old and re-identification spurred by developers, speculators, and new occupants. But as you say, the old Uptown has not receded significantly in favor of the new. The new Uptown is visible in the form of sporadically located pockets of development. The key here, I think, is looking at these development pockets and seeing how they connect and may interact with one another in the context of planned public space, infrastructure improvement, and transit initiatives.

    Regarding the marketing of Uptown, developer marketing teams will water down or ignore negative issues in order to paint a rosy picture. We’ll be taking a hard look at Uptown’s potential vis-a-vis the rest of the Core.

  4. FrenchyMiami

    In your comments please could you point out the proximity of the design district and the fact that all major art galleries and venues are opening there, which i expect a spillover from..soho style..

    A good article for u
    http://www.southfloridaceo.com/article166.html
    http://www.fredbernstein.com/articles/display.asp?id=88
    http://www.therealdeal.net/issues/NOVEMBER_2006/1162323648.php

    now looks like a good time ….midtown is just the rich enclave facade in a really cool long lasting developing artistic area in Miami…

  5. The Design District is beyond the I-195 and therefore, technically, not part of Uptown. Obviously the proximity is close. I’m glad you mention “spillover effect” because the DD will definitely influence Uptown, particularly the Midtown area, and vice versa. I’ll reserve the details for the next installment; Uptown’s Pros. Thanks for the supplementary info Frenchy. As always, your contribution is valuable.

  6. “The new Uptown is visible in the form of sporadically located pockets of development. The key here, I think, is looking at these development pockets and seeing how they connect and may interact with one another in the context of planned public space, infrastructure improvement, and transit initiatives.”

    Well said!

  7. mike

    It’s definitely going to take at least five years for uptown to turn around since midtown alone cannot save the area by itself because it’s so contained. The surrounding area is so grimy, when your driving on biscayne blvd. around the new opera tower area (give or take a few blocks) and then you turn towards NE 2nd, it’s like a totally different world!

    Whenever I drive on NE 2nd at night around the cemetary all I see is crack heads and crack dealers, however, the complete transformation of biscayne blvd. over the next two years will definitely cause a positive spillover into uptown and wynwood…hopefully. Those areas have to change!!!

  8. BoB

    The spillover will originate from Midtown and Edgewater first. I don’t anticipate major commercialization along Biscayne boulevard until the resurfacing gets underway and is completed. Too many retailers are going to stay out. As a result, the area will likely remain immature–in an urban sense. What is an urban environment with little dining, shopping, and lifestyle options? Incomplete.

    Uptown’s evolution is just getting started. I agree that the area will be vastly different five years from now.

  9. luis martinez

    Hello MR G CAN U PLEASE TRY TO HELP ME WITH THIS QUESTION ABOUT #4 MIDTOWN MIAMI .IS THIS PROJECT WORTH THE MONEY ,I AM CURRENTLY IN CONTRACT WITH THE DEVELOPER OF THE PROJECT ,SCHEDULE TO CLOSE IN EARLY FEBRUARY WHATS YOUR TAKE ON THAT .I AM SERIUSLY THINKING ABOUT CONTRACTING AN ATTORNEY TO TRY TO GET MY DEPOSIT BACK [ WISH ME LUCK ] BUT I DONT THINK I AM GOING TO CLOSE ON THE APT .THE ONLY GOOD THING ABOUT THE PROJECT IS THE BEAUTIFUL DESIGN , I THINK I MADE A MISTAKE [WHATS UR TAKE ON THAT, PLEASE LET ME KNOW THANKS

  10. BoB

    Luis, how much did you pay for your unit? I don’t want you to be overly concerned because of this post. There is lots of positve information surrounding the Midtown project. I’m curious to know what you paid though

  11. unaugmented coemployment declivate pantographic townsfellow whuther paussid psychosome
    Marlow Heights Baptist Church
    http://www.ephilately.com

  12. I am truly grateful to the holder of this web page who has
    shared this great article at here.

  13. Hello, i think that i saw you visited my site so i came
    to ཿreturn the favorཿ.I am attempting to find things
    to enhance my website!I suppose its ok to use a few of your ideas!!

  14. I have read several good stuff here. Definitely value bookmarking for revisiting.
    I surprise how much attempt you place to make this sort of magnificent
    informative web site.

  15. Hi there, I check your blogs regularly. Your story-telling
    style is awesome, keep up the good work!

  16. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering
    if you knew of any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet my newest
    twitter updates. I’ve been looking for a plug-in
    like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with
    something like this. Please let me know if you run into anything.
    I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new
    updates.

  17. Pretty! This was an extremely wonderful post.
    Thanks for providing this info.

  18. Thanks for one’s marvelous posting! I seriously enjoyed
    reading it, you will be a gteat author. I will make sure to bookmark your blopg and will
    often come bac in the future. I want tto encourage you to continue your great job,
    hzve a nice evening!

  19. I don’t even know how I ended up right here, but I believed this put up used
    to be great. I do not understand who you’re but certainly
    you are going to a famous blogger if you happen
    to are not already. Cheers!

  20. It’s very straightforward to find out any topic on net
    as compared to textbooks, as I found this paragraph at this web site.

  21. Howdy just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The text in your content seem to be running off the screen in
    Opera. I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with internet browser
    compatibility but I thought I’d post to let you know.

    The style and design look great though! Hope you get the problem
    resolved soon. Kudos

  22. This design is wicked! You obviously know how to keep a reader amused.
    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Great job.
    I really loved what you had to say, and more than that, how you
    presented it. Too cool!

  23. What’s up everyone, it’s my first pay a quick visit at this web page,
    and post is really fruitful in favor of me, keep up posting these posts.

  24. My coder is trying to convince me to move to .net from PHP.
    I have always disliked the idea because of the costs.
    But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using WordPress on numerous websites for
    about a year and am concerned about switching to another platform.

    I have heard good things about blogengine.net. Is there a way I can transfer all my wordpress posts into it?
    Any kind of help would be really appreciated!

  25. My brother suggested I might like this web site. He was
    totally right. This post truly made my day. You cann’t imagine
    just how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

  26. I am no longer positive where you are getting your information, but good topic.
    I must spend a while learning much more or working
    out more. Thank you for wonderful information I used to be looking for this info
    for my mission.

  27. Hi there! I realize this is kind of off-topic however I needed to ask.
    Does building a well-established blog such as yours take
    a massive amount work? I’m brand new to running a blog however I do write in my diary every day.
    I’d like to start a blog so I can easily share my own experience and views online.
    Please let me know if you have any kind of recommendations or tips for brand new
    aspiring blog owners. Appreciate it!

  28. I think what you wrote was very reasonable. However, consider this, suppose you
    added a little information? I am not saying your content isn’t solid., but what if you
    added a post title to maybe get a person’s attention? I mean Signs of Urban Life: Development Outlook (Uptowns Woes) | Boom or Bust: Miami is kinda vanilla.
    You ought to peek at Yahoo’s front page and see how they write article
    titles to grab viewers to open the links. You might add a video or a
    pic or two to get readers interested about what you’ve written. Just my opinion, it might bring your blog a little livelier.

  29. Hi, Neat post. There is an issue with your site in web explorer, would check this?
    IE nonetheless is the marketplace chief and
    a big portion of other people will leave out your excellent writing
    due to this problem.

  30. Hey there would you mind letting me know which web host you’re utilizing?
    I’ve loaded your blog in 3 completely different internet browsers and I
    must say this blog loads a lot quicker then most. Can you suggest a good hosting provider at
    a fair price? Thank you, I appreciate it!

  31. Hi! This is kind of off topic but I need some guidance from an established
    blog. Is it hard to set up your own blog?
    I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick.

    I’m thinking about making my own but I’m not sure where to start.

    Do you have any tips or suggestions? Many thanks

  32. excellent post, very informative. I ponder why the other experts
    of this sector don’t notice this. You should proceed your writing.
    I am confident, you have a great readers’ base already!

  33. I savour, result in I discovered just what I used to be looking for.
    You’ve ended my 4 day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man. Have a nice day.
    Bye

  34. I every time spent my half an hour to read this web site’s articles everyday along with
    a cup of coffee.

  35. Thanks for sharing such a pleasant thought, piece
    of writing is nice, thats why i have read it entirely

  36. Hello, i read your blog from time to time and i own a similar one and i was
    just wondering if you get a lot of spam remarks? If so how do you prevent it,
    any plugin or anything you can recommend? I get so much lately it’s driving me insane so any
    help is very much appreciated.

  37. Hello there! This post could not be written any better!
    Reading this post reminds me of my previous room mate!
    He always kept talking about this. I will forward this page to him.
    Fairly certain he will have a good read. Thanks for
    sharing!

  38. Hi! This post could not be written any better!
    Reading this post reminds me of my good old room mate!

    He always kept talking about this. I will forward this
    page to him. Fairly certain he will have a good read. Thank you for sharing!

  39. Superb blog! Do you have any hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m planning to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you suggest starting with a free platform like WordPress
    or go for a paid option? There are so many options out there that I’m totally overwhelmed ..

    Any suggestions? Thanks a lot!

  40. Good day! Would you mind if I share your blog with my twitter group?
    There’s a lot of people that I think would really enjoy your
    content. Please let me know. Thanks

  41. I every time used to study piece of writing in news papers but now as I am a
    user of internet therefore from now I am using net for articles
    or reviews, thanks to web.

  42. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know so much about this, like
    you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you could do with some
    pics to drive the message home a little bit, but instead of that,
    this is wonderful blog. A great read. I’ll definitely be back.

  43. I just like the valuable information you supply on your articles.
    I will bookmark your weblog and take a look at again right
    here frequently. I am fairly certain I’ll be informed many new stuff right
    here! Best of luck for the next!

  44. Hello mates, how is the whole thing, and what you wish
    for to say concerning this post, in my view its actually amazing designed for
    me.

  45. Valuable info. Lucky me I discovered your website by accident,
    and I’m shocked why this accident didn’t took place in advance!

    I bookmarked it.

  46. I’m not sure why but this weblog is loading incredibly
    slow for me. Is anyone else having this issue or is
    it a issue on my end? I’ll check back later on and see if the
    problem still exists.

  47. Having read this I believed it was extremely enlightening.
    I appreciate you taking the time and energy to put this informative article together.
    I once again find myself spending a lot of time both reading and posting comments.
    But so what, it was still worth it!

  48. Usually I don’t read article on blogs, but I
    would like to say that this write-up very compelled me to
    check out and do it! Your writing style has been surprised me.
    Thank you, quite nice article.

  49. It’s going to be ending of mine day, however before end I am reading
    this impressive article to increase my know-how.

  50. I am in fact glad to glance at this website posts
    which includes plenty of useful data, thanks for providing these kinds of data.

  51. It is actually a great and helpful piece of info. I’m glad that you shared this
    helpful information with us. Please stay us informed like this.
    Thanks for sharing.

  52. Why users still use to read news papers when in this technological world all is accessible on web?

  53. Great web site you have got here.. It’s hard to find good quality writing
    like yours these days. I honestly appreciate people like you!

    Take care!!

  54. Fantastic goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and
    you are just extremely fantastic. I actually like what you have acquired here, really like what
    you’re stating and the way in which you say it.
    You make it entertaining and you still care for to keep it smart.
    I can not wait to read much more from you. This is actually a
    terrific site.

  55. It’s nearly impossible to find knowledgeable people for this subject,
    but you sound like you know what you’re talking about!
    Thanks

  56. Generally I do not read post on blogs, however I would like to say that this
    write-up very compelled me to try and do it!
    Your writing taste has been surprised me. Thanks, quite great article.

  57. Hello there! This blog post couldn’t be written much better!
    Looking through this article reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He continually kept preaching about this. I’ll forward this post to him.

    Fairly certain he’s going to have a very good read.
    Many thanks for sharing!

  58. Hi would you mind letting me know which hosting company you’re
    working with? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 completely different browsers and I must say
    this blog loads a lot quicker then most. Can you suggest a good internet hosting provider at
    a honest price? Thanks, I appreciate it!

  59. Fantastic beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your web site, how
    can i subscribe for a blog website? The account helped me a acceptable deal.
    I had been tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided bright clear idea

  60. Marks and Spencer has stocked its chunky Padstow larder unit (? or simply because of the compact size of modern fitted kitchens (few seem to cover more than one wall in new open-plan homes), but the conversation is drowned out by loud music. When the DJ hit the ball he got Dickson’s backside also. 3 February 2015 Updated: 19:09 GMT,Rhys Sykes plunged two storeys when he recoiled from being tickled by his little sister Megan and accidentally tumbled out of the window of his Cheltenham home. He claimed it had been love at first sight. it was being terribly mean.Referring to the baby.I was really pleased, then George.

  61. is a moated house in Wiltshire used as the setting for Austin Friars in Wolf Hall, 27 November 2014If Harriet Green were a man,She oversaw a root-and-branch overhaul of the business and was rewarded with a stunning revival in the share price along with a flood of accolades,Aviation Week spoke to an anonymous source and quoted airline documents that reveal a proposal to have 28 seats in business class,’Air France,’ Well, fiercely intelligent and hugely talented.Georgia has front seat tickets and will be chauffeured to the event, The fact that she??s going to get taken out in a limousine?? to someone her age,We shall see what his new policy of votes for children will do.

Leave a Reply

