Ten Museum Park in South Beach?

Image: SoBe Bay lofts designed by Oppenheim.

When I came across Sobe Bay lofts, it reminded me of Ten Museum Park, but I figured it was just a coincidence. Still, I had to check who designed it. As it turns out it was designed by Chad Oppenheim’s firm, which also designed Ten Museum Park. I’ve stated here before that some of the projects coming out of Oppenheim’s drawing boards look similar to one another. Here’s another example of what I mean.

Sobe Bay lofts closely resembles the top of Ten Museum Park. It even has the same horizontal slit windows featured on the towering Parkwest development. It looks like Ten Museum Park has a little brother on South Beach. I’m not bashing Oppenheim’s firm. I’m just making an observation regarding design-redundancy.

8 Comments

Filed under BoB Articles

8 responses to “Ten Museum Park in South Beach?

  1. James Wilkins

    I really don’t think it is redundant…it is an evolution of an artist examining a focused system. Oppenheim has also exploded away from that system after a considered period, to evolve further to CUBE, CASA, COR and latest, MDC Wolfson.

    I think there are MANY serious crimes againt design redundancy going on. Loft 1,2,3,4 come to mind??

  2. Jorge Perez may have wanted Cohen, Freedman, Encinosa, and Associates to keep a similar aesthetic-theme with the “Downtown Lofts” line–as he did to a lesser extent with his Ocean I, II, III, and IV line in Sunny Isles. I agree, blatant design redundancy, but it keeps the project-line aesthetic-theme consistent.

    Oppenheim, on the other hand, has similar designs in unrelated projects–being influenced primarily by the cube shape. Ice, later Element, now scrapped, is very similar in shape and scale to 10 Museum. COR, groundbreaking green features aside, has similar dimensions and exterior features to Element and 10 Museum as well. None of the Oppenheim projects you referenced have been built so observations have to be drawn from what could be inaccurate renderings.

    Regardless, look at Casa’s crown. It looks like Ten Museum’s with rounded edges. Cube is a singular concept — interestingly combining steel and glass with protruding spaces–, but again, it sticks to the trite cube theme, as made obvious by the title, and doesn’t incorporate curves. Where’s the exterior design evolution? I see much of the same.

    Oppenheim’s sharp and straight lines stream predictably until they are constrained by corners. This leaves no sense of flow and motion in his designs. RVL’s often curvaceous designs stand in refreshing contrast. Arquitectonica, NBWW, and Sieger Suarez, have demonstrated, I think, more exterior design dynamism than the Oppenheim firm. The MDC project, I have to admit, seems like an astonishing leap forward.

  3. James Wilkins

    I don’t really see that curves means better. I think Mies Van der Rohe, and Le Corbusier would have agreed. Not to mention Donald Judd whose work this period of Oppenheim’s work is influenced by. Some would consider it an artists evolution to thoroughly examine a system.

    Revuelta does just this as well, with curves. A deeply studied program with little, at first glance, variation. From Jade to 900 Biscayne to Cielo you can see the repetition of a thematic, involved analysis. That doesn’t make it redundant.

    In my opinion, Loft 1,2,3,4 are redundant because there is not a particular language of design being interpreted, rather a surface style is being reiterated. I think that Ocean 1,2,3 suffer from the same mistake. I understand the consistency for the Loft series branding , and I think they are good designs, nothing compared to the observations of order and form Oppenheim tackles.

    Eskimoes have countless different words for snow. It’s all snow, but it is different in finite and significant ways. The same could be said for the period of Oppenheim’s work punctuated by Ten Museum Park. Monet painted many Waterlily canvases in the series, they are all similar, and they are all works of art.

    • Bought this for our 5-year ancient datuhger. Overall the kids would give it 5 stars for sheer fun, and I like that it gets them active outside and they don’t complain about taking walks with us. I did take off a star for poor customer service (see below) and not being able to fold, or at least easily remove the handle bar for travel. We debated mini or maxi (daughter is VERY small for 5), due to its adjustability the Maxi was the right choice. In lowest position its handle height is the same as the mini. WE bought directly from the manufacturer website. When one of the handlebar covers broke (circular, round rubber ball piece on the end cracked and eventually fell off completely), they (kickboard USA) did not respond to our request for a replacement, despite the defect occurring the day after we received the scooter! So we were disappointed with the customer service, particularly given the price of the scooter. Having said that, my datuhger adores the scooter! She simply could not balance a razor, no matter how hard she tried. She picked up on the steering very quickly, less than a day. Many of my neighbors question me where I got it, their small ones delight in it too! It provides a quick and smooth ride. I had reservations when I saw the plastic board, and plastic parts, but it seems better made than my son’s razor which lasted less than a year. We’ve had this for 6 months and aside from the handlbar-cover problem, it’s going strong. Also, my son (8) prefers it to his ancient razor. They argue over it so much we are going to get a second one for him, this time we’ll get it from Amazon. It has been indispensible for trips to NYC because the kids don’t complain about walking long distances. Note it does NOT fold, a feature that would be very helpful. Although it arrived in two pieces, now that we have attached the T-bar handle to the board we have been unable to take it off again, making trips on the subway a small more hard. It is very light, a huge plus. It’s nice they’ve expanded the color options, when we bought it was either black or purple. The purple appears exactly as on my web browser.

  4. I appreciate your allusion to art. Frankly, I couldn’t agree with you more on the comparisons drawn. I don’t mean that curves are better, but I do know that, for the most part, they are conspicuously absent from most of Oppenheim’s designs. This hampers dynamism.

    I see your point regarding focusing on a design system, but I’ve seen RVL do the same and evolve it in a much more dynamic way. Just look at their evolution from Bristol to Santa Maria to Murano. You see the similarity in designs, but one gets a sense of an evolving style.

    It’s important to note that my observations are strictly confined to his Miami designs not anything else. He’s now dabbling in Dubai. Also, I think its important to note that Oppenheim is at the forefront of user-defined architecture with Cube and green features with Cor. He is a forward-thinking starchitect, but because of this I have high expectations. Even my favorite MDC project, as pointed out by Gabe on Transit Miami, looks like a replica of the CCTV Building in Beijing. I want to see a fresh departure from what I’ve seen thus far. So far, I am left waiting.

  5. sobe bay needs taking care of. like every building does. Chad, please help.
    what can we do with a senseless pool to turn it into a zen garden, with your aesthetic expertise?

  6. Luis Valdez

    I think you all should take a look at Oppenheim’s website…Check out all the new projects in Dubai, Costa Rica, Brazil and Puerto Rico I think they’ve managed to step out of the box.

    http://www.oppenoffice.com

Leave a Reply

