The City of Sweetwater was Founded by Russian Circus Midgets!!!!

At least I had heard this a while back in a Miami Politics course while in college. I wasn’t sure I believed Professor Moreno but felt that he had no reason to lie. Still, I was skeptical. Until I looked deeper. The fact is Sweetwater was really founded in 1941 by Russian circus midgets and accordingly many of their homes were miniature. I would like to know if these homes have been preserved. If they haven’t, that’s a shame. I also want to know if they left or if their decendants are still around. Hmmmm. I always thought Sweetwater was a bit weird, but I couldn’t put my finger on it. Anyhow, the now predominantly Hispanic city is neighbors with the rapidly expanding FIU and is expected to become more and more of a college oriented community. From Russian circus midgetville to an emerging collegetown, pretty interesting transition. This will have to be looked into further.

3 Comments

Filed under History

3 responses to “The City of Sweetwater was Founded by Russian Circus Midgets!!!!

  1. Mayle M

    Just one home has been preserved.

  2. mike

    Where is the home?!?! Thx!

  3. sweetwaterharry

    They rather be called dwarfs, little people, or elves, not midgets!

Leave a Reply

