The Half Penny Tax Has a Mascot!

Earlier today, on my way to Burger King, I quickly passed by one of the many infrastructure improvement signs along Miami-Dade county’s roads, but something caught my eye. On the sign, I thought I saw a half vanilla half chocolate cookie cartoon with arms, legs, and a face. I got a bit closer. It was no cookie. The half penny tax has a mascot: the Half Penny. Obviously much thought went into its elaborate design. To say nothing else, the thing is slightly ridiculous, and I wonder how it came about. At what point did someone in the county decide that the half penny tax needed a face, and it needed to look like this:

Did the County sponsor a fifth grade drawing competition? Could this be the winning drawing? God I hope so.

Leave a comment

Filed under BoB Articles, Transportation

Leave a Reply

